“Long Prevails for Hard Fought Potomac Feature Win”

“Kyle Lear Secures Second Career Track Title”

By Doug Watson

  Budds Creek MD (8/25/23)- Brandon Long held off two of the best in the business to score his first Limited Late Model win of the season in Friday’s 20- lap main event. The win for Long, steering his MasterSbilt no.19L, would be the second of his Potomac career and first since the 2021 season. 
  Lining up second for the start, Long burst into the lead on the first lap, and would eventually pace all 20 circuits, but the road to victory was not an easy one. Kyle Lear hounded long the entire way and then with three laps to go David Williams joined the fray to make it a three Way battle for the win, but Long would hold tough to score of the victory. With his second place finish, Kyle Lear would be crowned the 2023 track champion. David Williams settled for third with Sam Archer and Kenny Moreland, completing the top five.
  Delaware’s Ben Scott started on the pole, took the lead on the first lap and would then runoff to score his first career 20 lap RUSH Late Model win at Potomac. Ed Pope Jr posted his second consecutive runner up finish and would also go on to claim the 2023 division championship. Jeremy Pilkerton, Dale Hollidge and Scooter Tippett would trail at the finish. 
  Wyatt Hanson collected his 4th win of the season in the 20 lap Street Stock main and would be crowned 2023 division titleist, Mason Hanson rolled to his 2nd win of the season in the 15 lap hobby stock feature, high school junior Jayden Hatcher collected his 5th 15 lap strictly stock feature win, and his first career Potomac track championship with Kelly Crouse, cruising to his 3rd win of the season in the 15 lap ucar contest.

Limited Late Models (20 laps)
Brandon Long, Kyle Lear, David Williams, Sam Archer, Kenny Moreland, DJ Garrett, Austin Lathroum, Wayne Bryant

RUSH Late Models (20 laps)
Ben Scott, Ed Pope Jr, Jeremy Pilkerton, Dale Hollidge, Scooter Tippett, Megan Mann DNS-Jarrett Edwards

Street Stocks (20 laps)
Wyatt Hanson, Matt Tarbox, Mason Hanson, Stevie Gingery, PJ Hatcher, Jason Penn, Steve Hilgenburg, Gerald Shannon, Ben Pirner, Johnny Burch, Raymond Reed, John Cobb DNS-Jonny Oliver

Hobby Stocks (15 laps)
Mason Hanson, Owen Lacey, Colin Long, Kyle Randall, Watson Gordon, Billy Crouse, Justin Hatcher, Austin Lathroum, Richie Gibson, Bradley Shannon, Eric Hanson, Mikey Latham

Strictly Stocks (15 laps)
Jayden Hatcher, Billy Tucker, Nabil Guffey, Greg Mattingly, John Hardesty, Shawn Howsare, Johnny Hardesty, Patrick Kelly, Ricky Sexton, Brian Johnson DNS-Sarah Culver

U Cars (15 laps)
Kelly Crouse, Travis Dye, Richard Inscoe, Trevor Hammett, Keith Brown, Earl Whitehouse IV, Faith Lacey, Mackenzie Smith, Brandon Crenshaw, John Burch, Austin Crouse, Brooke Bowles, Rebecca Stone, Joey Suite, Larry Lamb, George Burch






3-31 4-14 4-21
5-5 5-12 5-28
7-3 7-22 8-4