"Potomac Braves the Cold, Lear Secures First of Season"

"Career First for Wilson in RUSH Crates"

By Doug Watson

             Budds Creek, MD-  On a blustery and cold night in Southern Maryland, Kyle Lear braved the elements to post his first win of the season in last Friday nights 20-lap Limited Late Model feature at Potomac Speedway. The win for Lear, steering his three-race old Rocket XR-1 no.151, was his second of the young season as he was the Late Model Sportsman winner at Hagesrtown speedway the weekend prior. 
             Tyler Emory and Kyle Lear made up the front row for the start with Emory darting into the race lead as the field scattered off turn two. Emory was on a rail for the first half of the event with Lear and David Williams in tow. Emory's undoing came on the 16th lap as he and Lear made contact coming off the fourth turn with Emory spinning from contention. Lear would then pace the final four circuits to post his 19th career Potomac feature win over a fast closing David Williams. "There was a small lip in the middle of three and four and I think Tyler hit that wrong which is what got him sideways." Lear stated post race. "I didn't mean to get in to him but there was no where for me to go." Lear was quite pleased with the performance of his new race car. "This car has been unbelievable." Lear stated. "We're starting to get this thing figured out, and two wins in two starts is a great way to begin the season." Derrick Quade took third, Billy Tucker was fourth with Emory rebounding for fifth at the finish. Williams took the heat win. 
           Cortland Ohio's Eric Wilson made his 8-hour tow to Potomac Speedway a good one as he would take his first career track win in the 20-lap RUSH Crate Late Model main. Wilson, who lined up fifth for the start, took the lead from Darin Henderson on the third lap and would eventually lead the distance, but it was no easy trip to victory lane. Defending Potomac track champion Logan Roberson came from his seventh starting spot and would hound Wilson over the final eleven laps before settling for a hard earned runner-up finish. "Wow, Logan made me work for that one." An elated Wilson stated in Potomac's victory lane. "We haven't had much luck down here in the past and to finally get a win here in Maryland and to hold off Logan to do it is awesome, he's one of the best in the business." Jamie Sutphin took third with Darin Henderson and Ryan Clement completing the top-five. Heats went to Jamie Sutphin and Darren Alvey.
          In support class action Jonathan Raley posted his second win of the season in the first of two 10-lap Hobby Stock features with defending champion Sam Archer collecting his season first in the second 10-lap event. 2016 U-Car champion Savannah Windsor swept both ends of the twin 10-lap features for the class for her first track scores of the new season. 

Limited Late Model feature finish
1. Kyle Lear 2. David Williams 3. Derrick Quade 4. Billy Tucker 5. Tyler Emory 6.Rich Marks 7. Mark Bailey 8. Jonny Oliver 9. Deuce Wright

RUSH Crate Late Model feature finish
1. Eric Wilson 2.Logan Roberson 3. Jamie Sutphin 4. Darin Henderson 5. Ryan Clement 6. Matt Tarbox 7. Jeff Pilkerton 8. Megan Mann 9. Darren Alvey 10. Tracey Graves 11. Matt Glanden 12. Rich Culver 13. Chuck Bowie DNS- Timmy Booth, John Imler, Harry Shipe III

Hobby Stock (feature 1)
1. Jonathan Raley 2. Sam Archer 3. Buddy Dunagan 4.Dave Adams 5. Robbie Kramer 6. Tommy Randall 7. Ray Bucci 8. Hilton Pickeral 9. Mikey Latham 10. Jerry Deason 11. Pete Stallings 12. Matt Randall 13. Corey Swaim DNS- Greg Morgan, James Rainey, Lane Price

Hobby Stock (feature 2) 
1. Sam Archer 2. Dave Adams 3. Robbie Kramer 4. Buddy Dunagan 5. Hilton Pickeral 6. Jonathan Raley 7. Matt Randall 8. Mikey Latham 9. Corey Swaim 10. Pete Stallings 11. Tommy Randall 12. Ray Bucci DNS- Jerry Deason, Greg Morgan, James Rainey, Lane Price

U-Car (feature 1)
1. Savannah Windsor 2. Jamie Marks 3. David Gates 4. Ryan Quade 5. Stephen Suite 6. Ben Pirner 7. Dominic King

U-Car (feature 2)
1. Savannah Windsor 2.Jamie Marks 3. Dominic King 4.Ben Pirner 5. Ryan Quade 6. David Gates 7. Stephen Suite (DNS)